Recognition Awards: 2021

Congratulations to the 2021 FLY Recognition Awards Recipients!

Congratulations Tanya Colon (Community Leader), Stacey Tuttle (Workplace Champion, Cecil Tengatenga (Diversity and Inclusion Champion), Joanne Smith (Force for Enrichment), and Amy Kundrat (Advocate for Early Career Professionals)! 

About the Award

The FLY Recognition Awards honor staff members in up to five categories whose work in the past year has exemplified the mission of FLY. These awards are an extension of FLY’s mission to provide resources and support for Yale staff members in the early stages of their careers as they seek to develop and strengthen their impact at Yale. Nominations for candidates are solely considered based on the nominator’s write-up. Please be as specific as possible, providing examples of how your nominee goes above and beyond their role at Yale. 

What are the award categories?

1. Workplace Champion Award 

The following criteria describes guiding principles of a Workplace Champion, reflecting work that takes place at Yale University. 

  • Translates vision into action and inspires others to do the same, working collaboratively and individually 
  • Demonstrates clear vision and creativity in their overall goals  
  • Exhibits a high level of integrity through example and fosters a positive workplace environment 
  • Takes initiative as a Yale community member, taking advantage of development and social-networking opportunities  
  • Has made an indelible difference in the workflow of their unit or department at Yale 

2. Community Leader Award

The following criteria describe guiding principles of a Community Leader, reflecting work that takes place within the Yale University community.

  • Builds or contributes to a strong university partnership with the greater New Haven community 
  • Encourages unity and community strength 
  • Enhances the university and greater New Haven partnership through organizing and/or participating in events, drives, walks, or other meaningful community outreach. 
  • A community leader within Yale, supporting initiatives like United Way, commencement, and other initiatives in service to the university 

3. Diversity and Inclusion Champion

The following criteria describe guiding principles of a Diversity & Inclusion Champion, reflecting work that takes place at Yale University. 

  • Values and prioritizes the well-being of people in achieving workplace goals, with a focus on matters involving work-life balance, diversity and inclusion, and accessibility 
  • Advocates for business models that create positive change and an inclusive workplace, including antiracist policies 
  • Embraces and promotes an understanding of cultural diversity and other individual differences in the workforce  
  • Actively seeks input and perspective from a diverse range of colleagues 
  • Mentors, coaches, or promotes opportunities for professional advancement to staff members 

4. Advocate for Early Career Professionals

The following criteria describe guiding principles of an Advocate for Early Career Professionals, reflecting work that takes place at Yale University. 

  • Encourages the development of early career professionals through coordinating events and/or offering mentorship 
  • Promotes FLY’s mission to the Yale community and encourages FLY involvement 
  • Provides advice and networking opportunities to early career professionals seeking career transitions and helps promote career mobility 

5. Force for Enrichment Award

The following criteria describe guiding principles of a person who is a Force for Enrichment, reflecting work that takes place at Yale University.

  • Demonstrates a curiosity and love for learning, and applies that to enrich their work and professional relationships, fostering a collegial environment and sense of belonging at Yale for all community members 
  • Becomes a confidante to students, staff, and/or Yale community members through genuine personal connection outside of their regular job responsibilities 
  • Improves themselves in the service of others by encouraging and engaging in the processes of self-discovery and self-enrichment 

How do I nominate someone?

Please submit your nomination using our online form. All Yale University employees can submit nominations. Self-nominations are not permitted.

The nomination cycle is open from February 1 through March 8, 2021.

Who is eligible?

The following job categories are eligible for the FLY Recognition Awards: Service and Maintenance (S&M), Clerical and Technical (C&T), and Managerial and Professional (M&P). Consultants, temporary/casual employees, faculty, and members of the Recognition Award Committee are not eligible to receive the awards.

What is the criteria to receive an award?

Please review the criteria above for each award. Additionally, please highlight a concrete example of how the nominee went above and beyond their job description to fulfill the award’s category. Please see a sample nomination here.